Douglas Hall A.F.C.
Cork, Ireland

e-Mail Douglas Hall AFC

Return to Home Page
Schoolboy Awards - Report from Finbarr Buckley
Photos Below.....

Douglas Hall honour young talent at RPH annual awards!
DOUGLAS HALL honoured its young talent at the club's final awards function of the season at the Kiltegan Room, RPH last week.
Before a capacity attendance Senior Secretary Nick Swanton & Treasurer Ursula Butler, whose selfless work was praised by all speakers, got proceedings underway by introducing special guests Senior Player of the Year Kevin Kelleher & David Hackett, along with Pat Mawe of the CSL, who presented the U-15 Div. Four title winners with the trophy following their recent last match of the season league victory.

The various coaches presented their choices of Player & Most Improved Player of the Year with the achievements of the three U12 teams in their first season getting a special mention by coach Derry Cronin. As in previous years, awards were presented to the goalkeeper with the most clean sheets, the top goal scorers in the first & second teams as well as to the Cork development squad players.

Mr. Swanton concluded the evening by thanking all players & parents for their commitment throughout the season as well as the hotel staff & photographer Rose Gowan whose photographs helped to capture the atmosphere of another successful season for the club's underage. "We are now reaping the rewards of our progressive academy", commented Mr. Swanton afterwards. "The U-12B team won their league at the first attempt with the Premier and the A teams finishing in the top three. We have now more players playing with the club than ever before and it is only a matter of time before exciting talent will make its way into the senior ranks.

U-12 Player of the Year : Brian Lynch. Most Improved Player : Sam Gallagher.
U-12A Player of the Year: Liam McKnight. Most Improved Player: Liam Foley.
U-12B Player of the Year: David Malone. Most Improved Player: David Sahm.
U-13 Player of the Year: Tomas Territt. Most Improved Player: Fiacna Nolan.
U-13 A Player of the Year: Ray Sweetnam. Most Improved Player: Sean Turner.
U-14 Player of the Year: Sam McGrath.
U-14A Player of the Year: Declan Donovan. Most Improved Player: Aaron Sheehan.
U-15 Player of the Year: Diarmuid O'Mahony. Most Improved Player: Donnacha Murphy.
U-15A Player of the Year: Conor O'Leary. Most Improved Player: Aaron Duggan.
U-16 Player of the Year: Paul Barry. Most Improved Player : Colm Daly.
U-16A Player of the Year: Mark Power. Most Improved Player: Dara Murphy.
Top Scorer ( First Team ) : Ryan Hunter (20) U-13
Top Scorer ( Second Team ): Liam McKnight (35) U-12A.
Clean Sheet: Colm Birmingham (10) U15A.
Cork Development Squad Players U-12 : David Harrington, Brian Lynch & Sam Gallagher.
Photos from Finbarr Buckley